

## **Editorial**

At the 29th European Peptide Symposium in Gdansk in 2006, the EPS and John Wiley & Sons, the Publishers, decided to launch the 'Journal of Peptide Science Travel Award'. The aim of this award is to honour young peptide scientists and to encourage them to become active members in the EPS and the EPS Symposia.

The Award selection worked in the following way in the first cycle of awards. An *ad hoc* committee led by professor David Andreu, the Scientific Affairs Officer of the EPS, selected a dozen outstanding posters at the symposium. The authors of these posters were invited to submit their work as full research articles to the Journal of Peptide Science.

The Journal put the manuscripts submitted through the standard reviewing process, and when accepted, they automatically received 'Journal of Peptide Science Travel Awards Gdansk 2006'.

In this issue we are proud to present the first three such articles:

PSC868 (page 702–708) – Catherine A. Bodé, Claude P. Muller and Annemieke Madder, Validation of a solid phase-bound steroid scaffold for the synthesis of novel cyclic peptidosteroids

PSC831 (page 709–716) – Ronald C. Elgersma, George Posthuma, Dirk T. S. Rijkers and Rob M.J. Liskamp, Backbone-modified amylin derivatives: implications for amyloid inhibitor design and as template for self-assembling bionanomaterials

PSC832 (page 717–727) – Anna S. Norgren, Thomas Norberg and Per I. Arvidsson, Glycosylated foldamers: synthesis of carbohydrate-modified  $\beta^3$ -hSer and incorporation into  $\beta$ -peptides

Each Article is highlighted with a special footnote as an Award Winner; a complete list of award winners will be published at the next EPS Symposium in Helsinlki, when there a second cycle of awards will begin.

The award winners will receive a contribution towards their travel costs in order to attend the next EPS Symposium.

JOHN H. JONES Editor in Chief, Balliol College, Oxford, UK

DAVID ANDREU Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Barcelona, Spain

